AI for Law Practices

Home / Guides / How much does an AI legal research tool cost for a solo attorney?

How much does an AI legal research tool cost for a solo attorney?

Quick answer · Updated Oct 31, 2026 · Prices checked against each vendor's own site.

An AI legal research tool for a solo attorney runs from a free tier to $499 a month on the vendors' own posted prices, with the lowest paid monthly plan at $49/mo. Of the 11 tools in AI Legal Research, six post a price and five are priced by quote. Every tool below names solo practitioners or small firms on its own site; prices were read on the vendor's own site on October 31, 2026 and link to the listing that carries the full price line.

Posted monthly plans

  • CaseMine: Essential $49/mo or $499/yr; AI Pro $99/mo or $999/yr; AI Premium $149.99/mo or $1,499.99/yr. AMICUS AI answers research questions and summarizes opinions across federal and all 50 state courts, and the vendor states your data is not used to train or fine-tune its models (ISO/IEC 27001:2022).
  • LawY: $89/user/mo for the all-in-one plan, which covers research answers with sources, first drafts, document analysis and contract redlining, with solo practitioners named among its intended users.
  • Westlaw: $170.95/mo for Westlaw Edge with AI-Assisted Research and $288.60/mo for Westlaw Advantage, which adds Deep Research and the Litigation Document Analyzer. The basis per attorney or per firm is not stated; both are sold online to new-customer firms of up to 10 attorneys.
  • Paxton: $499/user/mo billed monthly, or $2,999 per user/yr billed yearly, for research, drafting and case-file analysis in one workspace, with a 7-day free trial.

Priced by call or by memo

  • Counsel Stack: free for 25 research calls with no card; $20 per 50 calls pay as you go, and the calls never expire; Unlimited $199/mo. It runs inside Claude and ChatGPT and checks citations and quotes against the source.
  • Alexi: $499 a month for the default plan of 5 Pro Memos, 25 Instant Memos and 50 Alexi Arguments sessions, which can be canceled anytime; the pilot includes 10 free instant memos.

Priced by quote

  • Lexis+ AI: quote-based, sold to solo and 1–3 attorney firms through the LexisNexis online store, with a 2-day free trial and Shepard's Verify checking every cited source.
  • Vincent AI: quote-based, with a page for solo practitioners and small firms, bar-association member discounts through 80+ bar partnerships, and a Clio integration.
  • CoCounsel Legal: quote-based; Thomson Reuters offers online pricing to new-customer firms of up to 10 attorneys and a free trial.
  • Clio Work: quote-based, with a free trial; research with a built-in citator, case-file review and drafting, also inside Word.
  • Bloomberg Law: quote-based, sold as one platform at one price; the demo form takes firms from solo practitioners up.

What the price covers

A monthly plan buys the research assistant and, on most of these tools, the drafting that follows: CaseMine, LawY, Paxton, Clio Work and Lexis+ AI all draft from the research. Alexi and Counsel Stack price the unit of work instead of the seat, which suits a practice that researches in bursts. Eight of the 11 post that customer data is not used to train AI models and name a security standard: CaseMine, Alexi, Paxton, Westlaw, CoCounsel Legal, Lexis+ AI, Vincent AI and Clio Work. Each listing carries the full price line and the check date.

Quick answers

What is the cheapest AI legal research tool with a posted price?

Counsel Stack has a free tier of 25 research calls and sells $20 packs of 50 calls; among monthly plans, CaseMine Essential is $49/mo or $499/yr.

Does Westlaw post a price for its AI research?

Yes. Westlaw posts Westlaw Edge with AI-Assisted Research at $170.95/mo and Westlaw Advantage at $288.60/mo, with the per-attorney or per-firm basis not stated; CoCounsel Legal, the Thomson Reuters AI assistant, is quote-based.

Which research tools say they do not train on my data?

CaseMine, Alexi, Paxton, Westlaw, CoCounsel Legal, Lexis+ AI, Vincent AI and Clio Work each post a no-training statement and name SOC 2 or ISO 27001.

More guides